Jamie Peters

Photo Post Processing

Jamie Peters    1,189
Jamie Peters

In the spirit of the new club I'd thought I'd create a topic going through how I personally post process all my photos.

Before I start, remember this is my own method, other people may do things differently, I'm not an expert at Photoshop nor do I pretend to be, these are just a few things I've picked up over the years.

I'm aware this is a time consuming process and isn't to everyones taste, I can to a ground, or a concert, or anywhere and take 100s of photos, and I may only end up with a dozen I really love and run through Photoshop to put on my Flickr

Software Used

Adobe Photoshop, my version is CC 2014 but should be the same for all modern photos

So obviously, the first thing to do is to open your photo in Photoshop, I'm going to assume that you familiar with the software to start with as I don't want this to become a beginners guide, but I'm going to try and keep it as simple as possible.

1.jpg

The first thing I always do is alter the levels, thanks to Google ... "Levels is a tool in Photoshop and other image editing programs which can move and stretch the brightness levels of an image histogram. It has the power to adjust brightness, contrast, and tonal range by specifying the location of complete black, complete white, and midtones in a histogram."

The levels can be found by clicking Image, then Adjustments, then Levels

2.jpg

The levels settings are different for every photo, I just drag the sliders slightly to try and get the best results, these are the settings used on this photo, you can immediately see that the photo is a lot more brighter and vivid.

3.jpg

The next thing I did on this photo is slightly alter the Hue and Saturation, this can again be found by going into the Image, then adjustments menu, and this time pressing Hue and Saturation

4.jpg